Eye Health Heroes 2016

The Heroes initiative recognizes and celebrates frontline staff whose work in the field and engagement with the community makes a real difference in restoring sight. Nominated by IAPB member organisations from within their ranks, or from their partner organisations, the nominated Heroes will be honoured at the 10GA’s Celebration Ceremony.


Dr. César Gonzales

Medical Director
Clinica Divino Niño Jesus Eye Hospital

Lopez Star

Dr. Ellery Lopez

General Director
Instituto Mexicano de Oftalmologia

Tapo M

Mama Tapo

Lions Member, Mali
Lions Clubs International

Tsetim Lobsang

Dr. Lobsang Tsetim

Senior Eye Surgeon
Ramakrishna Mission Hospital

Pahau David

Dr David Pahau

National Department of Health/Boram General Hospital, Wewak East Sepik Province

James Muecke

Dr James Muecke

Chairman / Ophthalmologist
Sight For All

Zuev Viktor

Dr Viktor K. Zuev

Head of Department, Cataract Surgery and Intraocular Correction
The S.N. Fyodorov “Eye Microsurgery” Federal State Institution

Stevens Chan

Stevens Chan

Save Ones Sight Missions Bhd

Bosch vanessa

Dr Vanessa Bosch Canto

Pediatric Ophtalmologist
Instituto Nacional de Pediatría Mexico

Wangc Doma

Dr. Wangchuk Doma

Head of the Departments of Education and Outreach
Venu Eye Institute


Anna Morse

Programs Manager, Australia
Brien Holden Vision Institute

Legua Alberto Lazo

Alberto Lazo Legua

Executive Director
Clinica Oftalmologica Divino Niño Jesús (DNJ)


Dr Jambi Garap

Deputy Chief Ophthalmologist – Papua New Guinea


Dr. Boateng Wiafe

Director of Quality and Advocacy
Operation Eyesight Universal


Dr. Ciku Mathenge

Rwanda International Institute of Ophthalmology & Dr Agarwal’s Eye Hospital


Dr. Janak M. Shah

SEE International


Dr. Levi Kandeke

Surgical Ophthalmologist
Clinique de l’Oeil

Dr. Gérard Cadet

Dr. Gérard Cadet

Dean of Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacy
State University Haiti

Chunhong Guan

Chunhong Guan

Senior Program Manager
Orbis North Asia

Chunhong Yan

Chunhong Yan

Director of Blindness Prevention Office
He Eye Hospital

Dr Khairul Islam

Dr Khairul Islam

Executive Director and Consultant Ophthalmologist
De’ep Eye Care Foundation

Dr. Zhou Xing-Tao

Dr. Zhou Xing-Tao

Deputy Director of Ophthalmolgy and Professor
Shanghai EE&T and Fudan University

Jachin Aruldoss

Jachin Aruldoss

Associate Public Health Specialist
L V Prasad Eye Institute

Dr Jonathan Jasper Pons

Dr Jonathan Jasper Pons

Project Leader / Ophthalmologist
Good Shepherd Hospital