Eye Health Heroes 2017

EHH 2017
The Eye Health Heroes initiative recognizes and celebrates frontline staff whose work in the field and engagement with the community makes a real difference in restoring sight.

Nominated by IAPB member organisations from within their ranks, or from their partner organisations, the nominated Heroes are from the South East Asia region. They were felicitated at the IAPB Council of Members in Kathmandu, Nepal. (Read about their experience here).

EHH 2017--at COM 2017

Rishi Raj Borah, Eye Health Hero 2017, Orbis

Dr. Rishi Raj Borah

Director of Program,
Orbis India

Mitasha Yu, Eye Health Hero 2017, Brien Holden Vision Institute

Ms. Mitasha Yu

Regional Director, Asia Pacific,
the Brien Holden Vision Institute

Dr Aung Kyaw Win, Eye Health Hero 2017, the Helen Keller international

Dr. Aung Kyaw Win

Technical Coordinator
Helen Keller International

Dr Uma Vaidyanathan, Eye Health Hero 2017, Combat Blindness Foundation

Dr. Uma Vaidyanathan

Associate Medical Director,
Usha Kiran Eye Hospital

Dr Redentor Rabino, Eye Health Hero 2017, CBM

Dr Redentor Rabino

Cataract Foundation Philippines Inc.

Ram Prasad Kandel, Eye Health Hero 2017, Seva Canada

Mr. Ram Prasad Kandel

Program Director
Seva Nepal

Dr Reeta Gurung, Eye Health Hero 2017, Tilganga Institute of Ophthalmology

Dr Reeta Gurung

Chief Executive Officer
Tilganga Institute of Ophthalmology

Dr Bidya Prasad Pant, Eye Health Hero 2017, HelpMeSee

Dr. Bidya Prasad Pant

Tipitaka Chakkupala Eye Hospital

Dr Taba Khanna, Eye Health Hero 2017, NPCB

Dr Taba Khanna

State Programme Officer & Consultant Ophthalmologist

National Programme for Control of Blindness, Arunachal Pradesh, India

Dr Harsha Bhattacharjee, Eye Health Hero 2017, Sankaradeva Netralaya

Dr. Harsha Bhattacharjee

Medical Director and Trustee
Sri Shankaradeva Netralaya

Dr Reena Sethi, Eye Health Hero 2017, VisionSpring

Dr. Reena Sethi

Ophthalmic Director
Arunodaya Charitable Trust

Dr.Pham Minh Truong, Eye Health Hero 2017, Orbis

Dr. Pham Minh Truong

Hue Eye Hospital

Bhakta Purkait, Eye Health Hero 2017, Sightsavers

Mr. Bhakta Purkait

Founder and General Secretary

Sunderban Social Development Centre

Asad Aslam Khan, Eye Health Hero 2017, Sightsavers

Dr. Asad Aslam Khan

National Coordinator
National Blindness Control Programme, Pakistan

R Meenakshi Sundaram, Eye Health Hero 2017,

Mr. R. Meenakshi Sundaram

Senior Manager–Outreach
Aravind Eye Care System