Eye Health Leaders 2013

Celebrating the next generation of leaders in eye health


Supported by L’OCCITANE Foundation

The Eye Health Leaders 2013 is a celebration of eye health professionals with the vision and potential to lead the eye health sector in the future, culminating in a ceremony at the IAPB Council of Members 2013.
The people below, identified by IAPB member organisations, represent some of tomorrow’s leaders who will drive IAPB’s concerted effort to eliminate avoidable blindness and support the needs of those with permanent sight loss in the future. The range of roles, skills, backgrounds and achievements is testimony of the richness and diversity within the IAPB membership.
We invite all to join IAPB and L’OCCITANE Foundation in celebrating the eye health sector’s key strength – its people.

Unkown Picture

Lamia El Fekih

Professor of Ophthalmology

Nominated by: Nadi Al Bassar

Kashinath Bhoosnurmath_97x117

Kashinath Bhoosnurmath

Senior Director International Programs

Nominated by: Operation Eyesight Universal

Anne Ebri_100x117

Anne Ebri

Sub-Regional Manager for West Africa
Nominated by: Brien Holden Vision Institute

machado 98x117

Jorge Machado Cota

General Manager

Nominated by: Ver Bien Para Aprender Mejor

Edson 100x117

Edson Eliah

Deputy Director

Nominated by: Kilimanjaro Centre for Community Ophthalmology

Dr_Dong-hae_Kim 120

Dong-hae Kim

Republic of Korea
Ophthalmologist, Founder and Director

Nominated by: Vision Care (Dr. Fikru Melka, Vision Care, Ethiopia)

Faustin 2 98x117

Faustin Ngounou

Medical Officer

Nominated by: CBM

Emilio Foureaux_100x117

Emílio Macedo


Nominated by: Lions Clubs International Foundation

Muhit 98x117

Mohammad Muhit


Nominated by: Child Sight Foundation

Dr. Guerline Roney 101x117

Guerline Roney


Nominated by: International Eye Foundation

Sophie Plumridge 200px

Sophie Plumridge

Director Global Policy and Programs

Nominated by: VISION 2020 Australia

Nasir Saeed 98x117

Nasir Saeed

Professor of Ophthalmology

Nominated by: Pakistan Institute of Community Ophthalmology

Saad Hajar 101x117

Saad Hajar

Saudi Arabia
National Coordinator for the Prevention of Blindness

Nominated by: IAPB-EMR

Rohit K 100x 117

Rohit Khanna

Director, International Center for Advancement of Rural Eyecare

Nominated by: LVPEI

Institute Image_Sumrana_Pakistan 101x117

Sumrana Yasmin

Program Manager South East Asia & Eastern Mediterranean

Nominated by: Vision CRC

Sailesh 100x117

Sailesh Kumar Mishra

Program Director

Nominated by: Nepal Netra Jyoti Sangh


Zahida Ispahani

Management Advisor

Nominated by: Ispahani Islamia Eye Institute

Uduak Udom - 100x117

Uduak Udom

Primary Care Optometrist

Nominated by: World Council of Optometry

Lene Øverland

Lene Øverland

South Africa
Regional Director of Programme, Africa

Nominated by: ORBIS

Zhao Ming 100x117

Zhao Ming

Assistant to President

Nominated by: He Eye Hospital