International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine Keppel Street, London WC1E 7HT

United Kingdom

Tel: +44 (0)20 7958 8394 Fax: +44 (0)20 7958 8325 Email: communications@iapb.org

www.iapb.org



IAPB ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

September 17, 2013 (Tuesday)

Hilton Metropole, Brighton (UK)

MINUTES

Date -	September 17, 2013 (Tuesday)
Time -	Brighton 1650 – 1720
Venue -	Hilton Metropole, Brighton, UK

Members Present

Mr. Johannes Trimmel, Vice President of IAPB and Chairman of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) in the absence of Mr. Bob McMullan, IAPB President, declared the AGM to commence at 1650. As forty-nine Council members were represented at the meeting, including proxies, he declared that a quorum had been formed.

Minutes of the last meeting

Minutes of the last meeting held on September 16, 2012 in Hyderabad, India, were approved and there were no matters arising that were not covered in the agenda.

Agenda

The agenda as proposed was adopted.

1. To receive the Annual Accounts of the Charity for the year ended 31 December 2012 with the trustees' and auditors' reports

Mr. Adrian Poffley, Treasurer of IAPB, tabled the Annual Trustees Report and Accounts of the Charity for 2012. He noted that these had been approved by the Board of Trustees in its meeting on April 9, 2013, in Bangkok, Thailand, and drew the meeting's attention to the following -

- The narrative section of the trustees' report, signed by the IAPB Treasurer, and in particular:
 - The reserves policy, which formed an important part of IAPB's financial discipline, setting the level of unrestricted funds deemed sufficient to protect the continuity of the work of the organization; he noted that this had just been reviewed by the Board and modestly adjusted to reflect IAPB's current circumstances.
 - The investment policy, which outlined a cautious approach to risk.
 - The trustees' statement on risk, through which the Board demonstrated its oversight over the key risks facing the organization.



- The independent auditors' report to the members, signed by Ms. Naziar Hashemi, Senior Statutory Auditor of Crowe Clark Whitehill LLP, noting the auditors' opinion that the financial statements gave a true and fair view of the state of IABP's affairs as at the end of 2012;
- The statement of financial activities for the year 2012 comprising of the income and expenditure statement, balance sheet and cash flow statement.

He highlighted the following key messages:

- The sustained success and significance of the Seeing is Believing programme;
- The importance of members' financial contributions (both in terms of membership fees and voluntary contributions);
- The success of the 9th General Assembly;
- The fact that IAPB lived within its means and had good control mechanisms over its funds:
- The ongoing constraints on expenditures;
- The establishment of a trading subsidiary in order to benefit from tax efficiencies with regards to non charitable activities (for example sponsorships for the General Assembly).

As there were no questions from the floor, the following resolution was tabled:

RESOLUTION:

To receive the Annual Accounts of IAPB for the year ended 31 December 2012 with the trustees' and auditors' reports

Moved by K. Naidoo, seconded by S. Gilbert

In Favour all, Against 0, Abstentions 0.

2. To appoint auditors of the Charity and authorise the board of directors to agree their remuneration

Mr. Adrian Poffley praised the relationship with the current auditors, Crowe Clark Whitehill, and tabled the following resolution:

RESOLUTION:

To re-appoint Crowe Clark Whitehill as auditors of IAPB for 2013 and authorise the Board of Directors to agree their remuneration

Moved by HRH Prince Abdulaziz, seconded by K. Naidoo

In Favour all, Against 0, Abstentions 0.

3. To appoint new directors/trustees and note the resignations of directors/trustees

Mr. Johannes Trimmel noted the new and resigning directors/trustees as follows:



NEW TRUSTEES

- Mr. Matthew Head Alcon
- Mr. Dave McComiskey CBM
- Dr. Ludwin Monz ZEISS

RE-APPOINTED TRUSTEES

- Dr. Caroline Harper – Sightsavers (3rd term)

RESIGNED TRUSTEES

- Prof. Allen Foster CBM
- Dr. Danny Haddad International Trachoma Initiative (ITI)
- Dr. Michael Kaschke ZEISS
- Mr. Stephen King Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB)

He tabled the following resolution:

RESOLUTION: To appoint new directors/trustees and note the resignations of

directors/trustees

Moved by R. Thulasiri, seconded by P. Albano

In Favour all, Against 0, Abstentions 0.

4. Any Other Business

There being no other business, the Annual General Meeting was adjourned at 1720, Brighton time.

Johannes Trimmel
Vice President and Chairman of the AGM
IAPB



ATTENDANCE LIST

Officers

I. Mr. Johannes Trimmel, Vice President of IAPB

2. Mr. Adrian Poffley, Treasurer of IAPB

Regional Chairs

I. Africa Prof. Kovin Naidoo 2. Eastern Mediterranean HRH Prince Abdulaziz Ahmed Abdulaziz Al Saud 3. Europe Dr. Janos Nemeth 4. Latin America Dr. Juan Batlle 5. North America Prof. Louis Pizzarello 6. South East Asia Dr. Taraprasad Das 7. Western Pacific Dr. Richard Le Mesurier

LARD March are Depresented			
	PB Members Represented	Mr. Thulasiusi Davilla	
	Aravind Eye Hospital	Mr. Thulasiraj Ravilla Prof. Kovin Naidoo	
_	Brien Holden Vision Institute		
	CBM	Mr. Dave McComiskey	
	Child Sight Foundation	Dr. Mohammad Muhit	
	Edward Harkness Eye Institute	Prof. Louis Pizzarello	
6.	Eye Foundation Hospital	Dr. Akinwale Akinfe	
		Dr. Tayo Bogunjoko	
		Dr. Kunle Hassan	
7.	Frames for the World	Ms. Janet Callif	
		Mr. Reade Fahs	
		Mr. Bob Stein	
8.	Helen Keller International	Mr. Nick Kourgialis	
		Ms. Kathy Spahn	
9.	Himalayan Cataract Project	Mr. Job Heintz	
10.	IAPB Honorary Affiliate	Lady Jean Wilson	
11.	International Council of Ophthalmology	Mr. William Felch	
		Prof. Hugh Taylor	
12.	IMPACT-EMR	Dr. Abdulaziz AlRajhi	
13.	International Eye Foundation	Mr. John Barrows	
	•	Ms. Victoria Sheffield	
14.	International Trachoma Initiative	Dr. Danny Haddad	
15.	Ispahani Islamia Eye Institute	Dr. Steven Roy	
16.	KCCO	Prof. Paul Courtright	
		Mr. Edson Eliah	
		Dr. Susan Lewallen	
17.	L V Prasad Eye Institute	Dr. Rohit Chandramohan Khanna	
18. Light for the World		Mr. Johannes Trimmel	
19. Lions Clubs International Foundation		Mr. Phillip Albano	
20. Mectizan Donation Program		Dr. Adrian Dennis Hopkins	
		2	

Mr. Terje Iversen

21. NABP



22. Nadi Al Bassar

23. Operation Eyesight Universal

24. Optometry Giving Sight

25. PICO

26. RNIB

27. RANZCO

28. Sankara Eye Care Institutions

29. Seva Foundation

30. Sightsavers

31. Standard Chartered

32. The Fred Hollows Foundation

33. Ver Bien Para Aprender Mejor

34. VISION 2020 (UK) 35. Vision 2020 Australia

36. Vision Aid Overseas

37. Vision CRC

38. World Blind Union

39. World Council of Optometry

40. ZEISS

Dr. Ahmed Trabelsi

Dr. Boateng Wiafe

Mr. Juan Carlos Aragon

Mr. Clive Miller

Dr. Nasir Saeed

Dr. Namika Nasir

Mr. David Allen

Mr. Stephen King

Mr. Gerhard Schlenther

Dr. Ramanathan Ramani

Mr. Sridhar Subramaniam

Dr. Suzanne Gilbert

Dr. Caroline Harper

Ms. Jeanette McKenna

Mr. Brian Doolan

Ms. Lucy Gray

Mr. Nigel Pedlingham

Mr. Jorge Machado

Mrs. Anita Lightstone

Ms. Jennifer Gersbeck

Dr. Natalie Briggs

Mr. Jeremy Jalie

Miss Fiona Lamont

Mr. David Scott-Ralphs

Mr. Nigel Wilson

Prof. Serge Resnikoff

Ms. Penny Hartin

Mrs. Maria Arce-Moreira

Dr. Robert Chappell

Dr. Susan Cooper

Dr. Uduak Udom

Dr. Ludwin Monz