Skip to content
Eye care competency framework cover

The Eye Care Competency Framework is a critical tool through which the required workforce can be planned and developed.

WHO has developed the Eye Care Competency Framework (ECCF) as a critical tool through which the required workforce can be planned and developed.

The ECCF is a tool that conveys the expected or aspired performance of the eye care workforce across primary to tertiary levels of health care, to enable continuum of quality care and integrated service delivery that meet the needs of the population. It aims to be foundation tool to be used as comprehensive reference for workforce planning and development, that is flexible and can be applied to address context-specific needs and assist in defining a shared set of expectations with common language. The ECCF can further be used to as a source to guide practice standards, protocols, and performance appraisals.

The ECCF presents the competencies and activities of an eye care worker through six domains:

  • Practice
  • Professionalism
  • Learning and Development
  • Management and Leadership
  • Community and Advocacy, and
  • Evidence.

Within these domains, each competency and activity is underpinned by knowledge and skills. Behaviours and tasks for each competency and activity are expressed (respectively) at different levels of proficiency. An eye care worker may identify with different levels of proficiency across each competency or activity within a particular domain; this will depend on their education and role requirements and is not specifically linked to their occupational group.

Access the Eye Care Competency Framework at this link. It is available in English, Spanish, and French.