Skip to content
Published: 14.04.2021
Rachael Bourke Membership Services Manager

Dear members, 

Following our recent Board elections in which a considerable proportion of the membership exercised their right to vote, we are pleased to announce the new Board of Trustees composition for the next four years. 

Congratulations to all our Board members who have been elected to serve for the next four years: 


President: Caroline Casey

Vice President: Babar Qureshi, Christian Blind Mission (CBM) 

Treasurer: Debra Davis 

Elected Trustees 

Group B Trustees:

Derek Hodkey, Orbis International 

K-T Overbey, OneSight 

Group C Trustees:

Elizabeth Kurian, Mission for Vision  

Fatima Kyari, International Centre for Eye Health 

Kashinath Bhoosnurmath, Operation Eyesight 

Job Heintz, Himalayan Cataract Project 

Nick Kourgialis, Helen Keller International 

Wei He, He Eye Specialist Hospital 

Regional Chairs 

Africa Regional Chair: Aaron Magava 

Europe Regional Chair: Wolfgang Gindorfer

Eastern Mediterranean Regional Chair: Abdulaziz Ibrahim AlRajhi

Latin America Regional Chair: Francisco Martinez Castro 

North America Regional Chair: Suzanne Gilbert 

South East Asia Regional Chair: Rohit Khanna

Western Pacific Regional Chair: Amanda Davis 

We received many nominations from excellent candidates and would like to thank everyone who ran for election. Click here for the full election results. 

The newly elected members will join our appointed members to serve on the Board: 

Nominated Trustees 

20/20 Quest: Kevin Hassey 

Christian Blind Mission (CBM): Babar Qureshi 

International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO): Neeru Gupta 

Light for the World: Jess Blijkers 

Shanghai Eye Disease Prevention and Treatment Center: Haidong Zou 

Sightsavers: Caroline Harper 

The Fred Hollows Foundation (FHF): Jennifer Gersbeck 

World Blind Union: Arnt Holte 

World Council of Optometry (WCO): Scott Mundle 


Allergan: Bernie Ursell 

Bayer: Michelle Sylvanowicz 

CooperVision: Stuart Cockeril 

Novartis: Joerg Jenewein 

Roche: Labrini Papageorgiou 

Santen: Yoko Saiki 

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank our outgoing Board members for their commitment, support and contribution over the years. I hope that we continue to work together over the coming years towards our goal of ending avoidable sight loss by 2030.