The Fred Hollows Foundation

Fred Hollows Foundation (FHF) logo

The Fred Hollows Foundation works for a world where no one is needlessly blind and Indigenous Australians enjoy the same health and life expectancy as other Australians.

The vision of The Fred Hollows Foundation is for a world where no one is needlessly blind, and Indigenous Australians enjoy the same health and life expectancy as other Australians.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Our organisation is inspired by Professor Fred Hollows (1929-1993). Fred was an eye doctor, a skilled surgeon of international renown and a social justice activist who championed the right of all people to high quality and affordable eye care and to good health.

Working to continue Fred’s vision, The Fred Hollows Foundation in Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom, have come together to form a global network to increase our collective impact in eradicating avoidable blindness around the world. Through this new network, together, we will be able to enhance Foundation operations and programs in the countries where we work and bring funding bodies and program entities in a truly equal partnership. Collectively working in over twenty countries world-wide, with the help of our supporters, we hope to build on our record of restoring sight to well over 1,000,000 people.

The Fred Hollows Foundation strives to achieve four key goals

  1. End avoidable blindness in the communities and countries where we work.
  2. Improve the life chances and choices of Indigenous Australians through improving their health.
  3. Work through strong partnerships and cross sector collaborations – at local, national and global levels.
  4. Build a strong and dynamic organisation, capable of facilitating effective eye and Indigenous health programs and have a positive impact on public opinion, policies and practices.

The Fred Hollows Foundation works in Africa (Brundi, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda), South Asia (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, State of Palestine), South East Asia (Cambodia, China, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Indonesia, Loa PDR, Myanmar, The Philippines, Timor-Leste, Vietnam), The Pacific Region and Indigenous Australia.