Skip to content
Published: 12.10.2015

Champalimaud Laureates 2015

Last month, three IAPB member organizations were honored to receive the Antonio Champalimaud Vision Award: Kilimanjaro Centre for Community Ophthalmology, Seva Foundation, and Seva Canada. We are grateful for this recognition of our partnership over the years and our work to strengthen sustainability of eye care services in sub-Saharan Africa.

Beyond this, we commend the Champalimaud Foundation for its “vision” in establishing this Award which next year will be given for the tenth time. It is a tribute to Dr. Leonor Beleza, her Lisbon team, and the Champalimaud Jury Chair Dr. Alfred Sommer that the Award has taken on such prominence. We also thank the then-IAPB President Dr. G N Rao for his active encouragement and support of the very new Champalimaud Foundation in developing its vision focus.

Kilimanjaro Centre for Community Ophthalmology, Seva Foundation and Seva Canada will participate in the May 2016 ARVO meeting in Seattle as Champalimaud Laureates. We very much hope IAPB members will join in for the May 3 evening symposium on research breakthroughs by our organizations and the reception hosted by the Champalimaud Foundation.