Skip to content
Published: 12.06.2017

A new board of VISION 2020: The Right to Sight – INDIA was elected on 2nd June, 2017. The term of the Board will be 2017 – 2020.

Dr Taraprasad Das, Vice Chair, L V Prasad Eye Institute and Regional Chair, International Agency for Prevention of Blindness, South East Asia (IAPB, SEAR) has been elected the President.

VISION 2020 India logoThe other members elected to the executive committee are: Dr Santosh Moses, Regional Manager – South Asia, Operation Eyesight Universal (India) as Vice President; Mr Govind Hari, Chairman, Administration, Pushpagiri Vitreo Retina Institute as Secretary and Dr Rahul Ali, Country Director, India, Orbis International as Treasurer.

The other Board Members comprise of the founder members: CBM, represented by Dr Sara Varghese, National Director & Managing Trustee; Sightsavers, by Mr RN Mohanty, CEO, Sightsavers India; Aravind Eye Care System by Dr R D Ravindran; Dr R P Centre by Prof Atul Kumar, Chief, Dr R P Centre; Lions Club International Foundation by Mr A P Singh, Chairman, National Sight First Committee of India and Seva Foundation.

Ms Elizabeth Kurian, CEO, Mission for Vision, India; and Alcon, as industry member represented by Mr Rajeev Nandan, Head – Insurance. & Government  Affairs were also elected to the Board.

The Board meets every quarter to discuss the progress of the strategic plan and other issues pertaining to eye health.